Posted in News on

Outstanding Rapid Employees of 2016

Employees of the year 2016

At the beginning of each year, we gather to acknowledge the outstanding work of three types of Rapid employees who have excelled at their work. We recognize the year’s most exceptional administrative employee, technician and bus operator. This year, we’d like you to get to know The Rapid’s 2016 Employees of the Year a bit better.

Administrative Employee of the Year

Lauren D., Benefits Administrator

How many years have you been at The Rapid?
8 years.

Tell us about your career path at The Rapid?
I started in 2009 as a part-time Human Resources Assistant and was in that position until 2012. I was the Recruiter from 2012 – 2015 and became the Benefits
Administrator in October 2015, which is my current role.

What do you love most about your job?
Working with all employees of The Rapid, especially the HR team I work with and the family friendly environment.

Technician of the Year

Tim S., Technician

How many years have you been at The Rapid?
22 years.

You’ve seen a lot of changes during your time here. What has been the best one?
When air conditioning was installed in the garage.

What do you love most about your job?
The people I get to work with.

Bus Operator of the Year

Sherry B., Bus Operator

How many years have you been at The Rapid?
9 years.

What are some other notable achievements you’ve had at The Rapid?
I’ve had no preventable accidents or founded customer complaints during my time at The Rapid.

What do you love most about your job?
I love the driving. I like to be out and about and not stuck in an office environment. Meeting new people helps to make it a really fun job, as well.

Congratulations to Lauren, Tim and Sherry! We’re so grateful to have you as a part of our team.

Written by The Rapid

The Rapid (Interurban Transit Partnership) is the authority that provides a variety of public transportation services for the Grand Rapids metro area and beyond. It is organized and operates under Michigan Public Act 196 of 1986.